/-/S'pht-Translator-Active/-/

Aleph One is not the wave of the future. [longish]
Posted By: RyokoTKDate: 5/24/05 3:38 a.m.

Yesterday in the Alephone chat on AIM I got into a heated debate with one of the developers for A1, and a mapper that is basically the posterboy for the whole project. Since it would be rude to give out names, let's just call the developer "Umbridge" and the mapper "Pookie."

Anyway, here's a bit of background. Nightly builds have been coming out for A1 almost on a daily basis for the last week, or so. Funnily enough, the last build that would work with reasonable stability for netplay [remember, this is in AO chat, so netplay is important] is 5/10. 5/15 didn't work at all, and the others had various conflicts that made it too difficult to play with. I was idly grumbling about how the last few releases had just been for the inclusion of a couple Lua functions, but didn't fix any of the bugs that the previous releases made. Now, I'm not a programmer by nature, so I guess I'm unaware of the circle of development life, but one would think that these people would make sure that all of their stuff actually worked. That's just me.

At this point, Umbridge starts getting a little irked. I can understand it, I would be too, but he kept telling me, basically, that I'm undervaluing the importance of Lua, or some such nonsense. When I asked him to find any mappers that genuinely care about Lua, Pookie decides to interject. Now, here's a bit of background on what I think of Pookie and his maps: they aren't fun to play. The Lua is nice and interesting, but it doesn't make the map fun, and that's what's important, right? Little did I know how wrong I was about "fun."