/-/S'pht-Translator-Active/-/

Re: Marathon Speedrunning question *LINK*
Posted By: Aaron FreedDate: 5/2/20 11:40 a.m.

In Response To: Re: Marathon Speedrunning question (Godot)

: Good to know that folks still play on Total Carnage. I was wondering if this
: was a generational thing. ;)

: Cheers
: Hamish

I still play TC all the time. My channel has some of my films (link below). Though I’ve got by far the most films for the games I’m actually a developer of, for presumably obvious reasons, I do have about forty vid films of M2 and Infinity as well, of varying quality. If you go to “playlists”, you’ll find my most recent films of each level. (I’ve vidded several levels multiple times; I’ve completed twelve levels of M2 and … yes, seven of Infinity. Though “Confound Delivery” could be counted as an honorary eighth, as it’s a fists-only film, and I didn’t carry enough health over to where I’d have died before I reached a recharger if I’d started with 1x shields. I’m really bad at M1, so I haven’t posted any of my films of that yet.)

I’m still working out some emulator issues for playing back the original M1 films, but the older VidmasterChallenge channel, which is linked in my sidebar, has some of them – not all of them. (Aleph One is unable to replay the original M1 vid films, because it’s not actually running in the M1 engine; it’s an attempt to replicate M1 using a modified M2 engine, but it isn’t an identical recreation of the original engine, and thus it can’t replay M1 films.)

As for speedruns, folks run the games on both Kindergarten and TC because the strategies for the two difficulties are so vastly different. Kindergarten is obviously pathetically easy in casual play, but the strategies for a speedrun are quite difficult, since they’re designed to take the game to its limit. Very little of what you would see in a normal game is left in a Kindergarten speedrun, due to all the grenade skips and other exploits.