Frequently Asked Forum Questions
 Search the HBO News Archives

Any All Exact 
Search the Halo Updates DBs

Halo Halo2 
Search Older Posts on This Forum:
Posts on Current Forum | Archived Posts

Fly through Halo 2 in 3D on your PC
Posted By: Jordan117Date: 5/23/08 2:27 p.m.

NOTE: I am not a modder, never have been, and I don't keep up with modding sites or techniques. So if what I'm gushing over below seems hopelessly out-of-touch and naive, then forgive me, I'm a modding noob.

I've been working on a Forge map recently, a remake of a section of a Halo 2 campaign level. I wanted to make this map accurate, but it was very tedious to pop in the Halo 2 disc, explore the area for awhile, then quickly switch back to Halo 3 while my memory was fresh.

To make things easier, I did some searching online to try to find some overhead maps of the level, or some good screenshots, or some other resource that I could leave open on my computer while I forged.

And it was during this search that I found something wonderfully cool.

Entity UE is a full-featured Halo 2 map editor created by and for modders. Again, I am unfamiliar with modding practices and techniques, so I don't know what 90% of those features do, but there's one particularly cool aspect of the program that even the most tech-illiterate Halo fan can appreciate: the BSP viewer.

This tool takes any given Halo map file and renders it on your computer in 3D. The rendering process is a little CPU-intensive and may take a few minutes on slower machines, but when finished you are essentially looking at Halo 2 with a pancam. There are no boundaries, no death walls, and you can look at the inside and outside of every structure in the game. You can even view the map files for cutscenes, accessing formerly unseen areas freely.

If exploring Halo 2 in this way sounds cool to you, here's a step-by-step guide to setting up Entity UE on your computer:

1. Download Entity UE v1.6 here and install it.