/-/S'pht-Translator-Active/-/

Idea for scenario story
Posted By: Agent ShemDate: 9/21/02 3:31 p.m.

Ok, here's the deal. I've got a really great idea for a Marathon scenario that is, to my knowledge, original and unique.

The problem is that I have absolutely no mapmaking skills, and very little Anvil skills. I can do a bit of Photoshop stuff, thought.

But my main strength is in writing. I am a journalist by trade, and I loev sci-fi and fantasy. I also have a strong background in mythology.

So I'm wondering where I should go. I looked at the Marathon: Recruits page, and I am considering that. But I also want to get the adive of the 1337, as well as to see if any of you are interested in colaborating with me on a project.

Here's the outline so far: (And if you rip off my ideas I will think you're a big loser, and if you post a scenario that has my stuff, I'll let 'em all know.) ;^D

The scenario takes place on a distant desert planet thousands of years before the events of Marathon 1. The Pfhor empire is just emerging, and the Jjaro, with their prescience, are trying to orchestrate the events that will lead to that critical point in cosmological history.

The "player" is not directly the UESC Marine, but he is an incarnation of him. (This is where the scenario takes a turn from most: it involves a pre-incarnate Marine: my guy and Bungie's guy will be "the same"...maybe). He is part of a desert tribe, not necessarily human (though perhaps they are humans from another era, caught in a time warp or something). He is part of a special-forces task force charged with stopping an invasion of Phfor fighters.

The culture the player is from is an odd mix of high-tech and primitive warfare. For example, they dress in robes and use blade weapons and bows (more later) but have computers, internet, rocket launchers ;^) and energy weapons.