/-/S'pht-Translator-Active/-/

Consipracy Theory, AI the Movie, & Zartman
Posted By: poenadareDate: 12/8/11 8:49 a.m.

So, some of you may have noticed Hamish posting some old gems for Bungie Sightings and other places. I thought to myself, "why hoard all that old mail?" So I'm rooting around in my mailbox to see what else I've hidden away for nearly ten years.

My brief stint at Bungie Sightings gave me an inkling of the insanity Hamish must deal with. For example:

Subject: Don't shout me down too quickly now....
Date: Sun, May 6, 2001 at 1:09 AM
To: Matthew

O.K.....hear me out before you rush to deny things. My name's Josh Weinberger, and I'm a freelance writer at The New Yorker...

I've been trying to play catch-up on a story that I should have been out in front of, considering I saw those damned hashmarks in the "A.I." poster back in late March or early April (I forget exactly), and I never did anything about it....

So every news organization and its multinational mother has been "breaking" stories on this for the last three weeks, and I've been trying to come up with some actual "news."

The studios involved are (predictably) mum, and the sites are all creatively registered to various members of the "Ghaepetto" family (nice touch, that) -- all women with the names arranged alphabetically
Anna (2 sites)
Bianca (11 sites)
Carla (17 sites)
Daniella (15 sites)

They all seem to dead end with fake phone numbers and (I assume) fake mailing addresses -- though it was cute that all the dummy phone numbers come with area codes that accurately match the fake addresses.

So, here goes --

When I get past the dummy registrations -- which I was only able to do on a couple of sites -- I managed to discover that DOUG ZARTMAN's name comes up...

...and that you and he are somehow connected to gaming and publicity and -- most importantly -- BUNGIE SOFTWARE...