/-/S'pht-Translator-Active/-/

deserves an answer...
Posted By: AnaphielDate: 10/12/04 7:43 p.m.

In Response To: Re: finally done (more or less) * modem-busting DL (ukimalefu)

: First let me say that this is amazing, but Anaphiel, Why did you give him a
: face??? And why is he wearing spandex??? Still love it, but I'd like one
: with the helmet ON (you only have a small one in your site)

: Let me say this again, the poster IS great, but the Marathon marine never had
: a face. Sorry to nitpick, I shouldn't, but it bothers me.

You're not the first person who's been bugged by this. And ironically, I'm one of the all-time champions for having a FPS character be a nameless, faceless figure that you can imagine to be anyone you want, imagine to be yourself. There was a pretty good discussion about this topic a couple of years back on this very forum IIRC.

But since I started painting these Marathon pieces, I knew eventually I'd end up doing a piece with the Marine's face showing. After all, it's hard to avoid unless you want to do nothing but shots from behind, or with a full-face helmet (and since I took a lot of my design inspiration from the sprites and the M1 manual, a full-face helmet was out), or conveniently looking away, or in starkly-lit silhouette... all of which I did in earlier pieces.