Frequently Asked Forum Questions
 Search the HBO News Archives

Any All Exact 
Search the Halo Updates DBs

Halo Halo2 
Search Older Posts on This Forum:
Posts on Current Forum | Archived Posts

Re: RvB is hiring Animators. Just sayin' (GREAT JO
Posted By: IbeechuDate: 7/27/11 1:05 a.m.

In Response To: RvB is hiring Animators. Just sayin' (GREAT JOB!!) *NM* (INSANEdrive)

No kidding? I tried to find information on that but I couldn't find a job page or anything.

And mattroe, really nice job. I'm surprised at how cohesive you made it. I'm an Animation Mentor student and I hang around CGTalk and 11secondclub a lot and I always expect any sort of link like this to lead to something terrible. But yours definitely wasn't.

But, from one student to another, here are some critiques:

You have a couple of moments where the blue guy is twinning. Sometimes it's appropriate but when he makes that W pose and says, "I can speak ALIEN," it feels cliched. It's the kind of pose you see in TV a lot and it comes off as the animator not knowing exactly what he's going for. I dunno how in-depth you've studied pantomime and acting yet but the key is to always be sincere. Act it out many many times and see what you do naturally and draw from that. The best animation always comes from reality, and that W pose doesn't feel real.

Again, getting into some really advanced stuff, but about the face (and take what I say about facial animation with a grain of salt because I have yet to study the face in-depth) but I noticed that the eyebrow's line of action often looks broken, again on the blue guy. Treat the top of the eyebrows as another line of action just like you'd treat the entire body. Again, for example, on the line, "I speak alien," on the word "I," his left brow goes up before the right and creates a sharp break in the brow overall. Like with twinning, that can be appropriate sometimes, but in most cases you want to keep the whole brow sculpted to feel like a single unit.