Frequently Asked Forum Questions
 Search the HBO News Archives

Any All Exact 
Search the Halo Updates DBs

Halo Halo2 
Search Older Posts on This Forum:
Posts on Current Forum | Archived Posts

Forge Design Theory Lessons *long*
Posted By: GodlyPerfection <godlyperfection@reachingperfection.com>Date: 10/13/10 11:07 a.m.

Hello HBO,

A good friend of mine, Time Glitch, referred me over to this site. He feels that what I have to offer is valuable for the HBO community, so I figured I would drop by and share my stuff.

Below you will find the index for a series that I have been writing since August 1st 2010 on my game/level design blog @ ReachingPerfection.com. It is a series focused around general level design theory topics that I have learned through using forge in Halo 3 and Halo Reach. This series isn't a step by step process of how to geomerge or setup teleporters or anything technical like that. This series is focused on level design theories that can be used in more than just Halo. The series includes topics such as eye catching, path manipulation, smooth spawning, color contrast, advertising, incentives, deterrents, etc. They are offered as guidelines to help refine your own design techniques, not as law. Each lesson is written to be as long as a single typed page in word so that it isn't too much to read. They each consist of one intro paragraph and three one paragraph sections. Take your time reading them as it is a lot of information.