Any All Exact 
Search the Halo Updates DBs

Halo Halo2 
Search Older Posts on This Forum:
Posts on Current Forum | Archived Posts

Analysis of the Warthog *long with images*
Posted By: SpeedyDate: 3/6/05 2:48 a.m.

A Thorough Examination of the Mechanical Aspects of the M12 Warthog LRV

First, I'd like to apologize for the MS Paint images, it's the best I could do without my copy of photoshop or time to download GIMP on dial-up.

As an engineering student, I was immediately fascinated by the Warthog when I first got to drive it in March of 2002 (Has it been three years already?). Many people have made Lego models of the Hog, or compared it to the Peugeot Hoggar concept SUV. However, most people don't realize how inherently different the construction of the Warthog is from any vehicle of today. It's actually a very unique vehicle, centering mainly on the suspension and transmission. As a result of this, I've decided to write up my observations of the vehicle's structure, and present a few of my ideas about how it would all work.

I based this little examination on various screenshots I've taken using the debug camera in Halo CE. Due to this, I've gone to Halo 2 to check up on the differences, and have determined they are all purely cosmetic, and do not effect the fundamental construction of the vehicle.

The Chassis, Transmission, and Steering

The suspension and chassis of the Warthog are where it differs from any modern vehicle. In short, it doesn't really have a chassis. Each wheel has its own separate suspension, and each of the 4 suspensions are identical. There is a large strut that extends out of the body of the Warthog, on the end of which is the wheel.